MagicDraw 18.5 Documentation

Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

Start the merge using either of the following:

  • From Collaborate > Merge From:

You can apply this method of starting a merge exclusively to Teamwork server and Teamwork Cloud projects. For Teamwork Cloud projects, you do not need to specify the ancestor; it will be instantly identified after the source is selected. For Teamwork server projects, the 3-way merge will be applied if you select project versions from different branches. Please note that the 2-way merge will be applied if you select an older version from the same branch or trunk.

  • From Tools > Project Merge.

You can apply this method of starting a merge to both local and server projects, although used projects can be included in a merge only for server projects. You must specify both the source and the ancestor, and manually choose the 3-way or 2-way merge.

  • For Teamwork Cloud projects, the modeling tool automatically applies the 3-way merge, as a merge is only available between project versions from different branches. 
  • Partial locking of a project occurs when merging changes of a project in the Teamwork Cloud server. Only changed/updated and merging elements are locked in the project, not the whole project. Thus, actions with other server project elements are not interrupted for other users by locking and merging activities.
  • While the merge is in process in a server project on the Teamwork Cloud server, other users will not be able to commit project changes to the server, as it will be unavailable.


Model merge for Teamwork server 


To start a merge from Collaborate > Merge From 


  1. Open a server project that will be the target.
  2. From the Collaborate menu, select Merge From.
  3. In the opened dialog, select a server project that will be the source.
  4. In the same dialog, click the  Advanced button to see more merge options. Otherwise, go to step #7.
  5. In the Optimize for drop-down list, select either:

    • Speed, to merge the projects faster. This will require more memory.
    • Memory, to decrease memory usage while merging the projects if your computer does not have enough memory. This will slow down the merge procedure. It will not include the differing diagrams/elements count. If you need that information, select optimize for Speed.

      You can also specify the Optimize for option in the Environment Options dialog. Find this option under the Merge category in the General options group.
  6. In the Used projects to include list, select the used projects of the target you want to merge with the appropriate used projects of the selected source. To select a used project, click the check box next to the used project name (see the following figure).

    The list includes only the projects that:

    • are used by the target in the read-write accessibility mode
    • have the same composition in both contributors
    • do not have private parts

  7. Click the Merge button. The project merge will start. If changes are found, the Merge window will open. Proceed to Analyzing and managing merge results.


To start merge from Tools > Project Merge


  1. Open a project that will be the target.
  2. From the Tools menu, select Project Merge. The Merge Projects dialog will open within the active project selected as the target.
  3. Select the type of merge.

    Learn about 3-way and 2-way merge in Choosing merge type .

  4. Select a project that will be the source.
  5. If you selected 3-way merge, choose a project that will be the ancestor.
  6. Click the  Advanced button to see more merge options. Otherwise, go to step #9.
  7. In the Optimize for drop-down list, select either:

    • Speed, to merge the projects faster. This will require more memory.
    • Memory, to decrease memory usage while merging the projects if your computer does not have enough memory. This will slow down the merge procedure. It will not include the differing diagrams/elements count. If you need that information, select optimize for Speed.

      You can also specify the Optimize for option in the Environment Options dialog. Find this option under the Merge and Compare category in the General options group.

  8. In the Used projects to include list, select the used projects of the target you want to merge with the appropriate used projects of the selected source. To select a used project, click the check box next to the used project name (see the following figure).

    The list is available only for server projects and includes only the projects that:

    • are used by the target in the read-write accessibility mode
    • have the same composition in both contributors
    • do not have private parts
  9. Click the Merge button. The project merge will start. If changes are found, the Merge window will open. Proceed to  Analyzing and managing merge results.


Model merge for Teamwork Cloud server 


To start a merge of the  from Collaborate > Merge From 


  1. Open a server project that will be the target.
  2. From the Collaborate menu, select Merge From.
  3. In the opened dialog, select a server project that will be the source.
  4. Click the OK button. The question message illustrated below appears.
     
  5. Do one of the following:

    • Click Continue to lock the server project and continue the merge process. Other users will not be able to commit changes.

    • Click Show Merge Results to proceed directly to the Merge Results.

  6. The project merge will start. If changes are found, the Merge window will open. 
  7. Proceed to Analyzing and managing merge results.


To start merge from Tools > Project Merge


  1. Open a project that will be the target.
  2. From the Tools menu, select Project Merge. The Merge Projects dialog will open within the active project selected as the target.
  3. Select a project that will be the source.

  4. Click the Advanced button to see more merge options. Otherwise, go to step #6.
  5. In the Optimize for drop-down list, select either:

    • Speed, to merge the projects faster. This will require more memory.
    • Memory, to decrease memory usage while merging the projects if your computer does not have enough memory. This will slow down the merge procedure. It will not include the differing diagrams/elements count. If you need that information, select optimize for Speed.

      You can also specify the Optimize for option in the Environment Options dialog. Find this option under the Merge and Compare category in the General options group.

  6. Click the Merge button. The question message illustrated in the previous section will appear.
  7. Do one of the following:

    • Click Continue to lock the server project and continue the merge process. Other users will not be able to commit changes.

    • Click Show Merge Results to proceed directly to the Merge Results.

  8. The project merge will start. If changes are found, the Merge window will open. Proceed to Analyzing and managing merge results.

Local model merge


To start merge from Tools > Project Merge


  1. Open a project that will be the target.
  2. From the Tools menu, select Project Merge. The Merge Projects dialog will open within the active project selected as the target.
  3. Select the type of merge.

    Learn about 3-way and 2-way merge in Choosing merge type .

  4. Select a project that will be the source.
  5. If you selected 3-way merge, choose a project that will be the ancestor.
  6. Click the  Advanced button to see more merge options. Otherwise, go to step #8.
  7. In the Optimize for drop-down list, select either:

    • Speed, to merge the projects faster. This will require more memory.
    • Memory, to decrease memory usage while merging the projects if your computer does not have enough memory. This will slow down the merge procedure. It will not include the differing diagrams/elements count. If you need that information, select optimize for Speed.

      You can also specify the Optimize for option in the Environment Options dialog. Find this option under the Merge and Compare category in the General options group.

  8. Click the Merge button. The project merge will start. If changes are found, the Merge window will open. Proceed to  Analyzing and managing merge results.