MagicDraw 19.0 LTR SP1 Documentation


The Teamwork Cloud Used Project Update plugin is an internal modeling tool plugin. Users can set up the plugin to update all or selected used projects to the latest versions. With this plugin we are also introducing a wizard to help select used projects for update. 

Projects within the update path will require these permissions: Administer Resources; Edit Resource; Edit Resource Properties; Read Resource. However, the target used project only needs the Read Resources permission.

An example

You have projects: A, B and C.  These projects are in use as follows A->B->C (project A is using project B; project B is using project C). In order to update B project to the latest version you only need Read Resource on project B and Administer Resources, Edit Resource, Edit Resource Properties and Read Resource permissions on project A.

However, in order to update B and C used projects you need Administer Resources, Edit Resource, Edit Resource Properties and Read Resource permissions for projects A and B. You will need only Read Resource on project C.


To enable/disable the plugin


  1. On the main menu, click Options > Environment. The Environment Options dialog opens.
  2.  In the options list, select Plugins and then the Used Projects Auto Update Plugin. Do one of the following: 
    • Set Enabled to true to enable the plugin.
    • Set to false to disable the plugin.


Create dedicated user

We recommend that you create a dedicated user, and use it in order to continue work with the Used Projects Auto Update Plugin.


To set up a properties file do one of the following


To update used projects


The plugin does not update used projects that are involved in cyclic dependencies.

  • No labels